Sara Eisa

Connect Program Fellow Fall 2020; 1YC Fellow Summer 2020; Senior Facilitator

Country of origin: Florence, Italy, and Alex, Egypt

Date started with Soliya: 2018

Education and field of work: I’ve been teaching Italian, French, and English as foreign languages over the last six years. Besides that, I am currently collaborating with a cultural association based in Florence to organize social and cultural programs for children and adults. I have attained academic degrees on languages and cultural mediation and taken part in many artistic and educational training programs, such as “ludopedagogy”, theatre for educators and social operators, dance, and body movement.

One accomplishment you're proud of: I am proud of my parents, my sister, and my brothers. It is not something I have done but I can consider my accomplishment as just being able to say it, and being truly and consciously proud of them all as part of my identity.

What about Soliya inspires/motivates you to be involved? My first impression of a highly professional environment in Soliya encouraged me to grow my expectations and continue my commitment, and I’ve always been happy with this choice. I really share Soliya's mission and I appreciate the constant challenges that I have to face up and deal with, thanks to which this work is affecting my relationships and my self-awareness.

What can you be found doing when not working/facilitating/training? Working - someone says too much - thinking - often too much - reading things about arts and theatre and watching Italian, French, English, and Egyptian movies - and performing every possible kind of workshops on body/languages/artistic expressions.

Favorite food: Half Italian and half Egyptian… impossible to choose! I love good homemade lasagne (my grandma’s was great!) and Friday’s samak with baba ghannouj :)